The Voice

There are times when the things we see take our breath away. There are moments when we know we must sit up and take note. As I mentioned in “A New Thing,” (below) there came a moment when I knew I was in the middle of a special moment. The moment when it became apparent that God was doing something by providing two men who were uniquely positioned to carry National 4-H Council and its technology direction to the next level. It was the unexpected, the moment that must have been similar to Moses witnessing the burning bush. Moses’ first reaction must have been to extinguish the fire. But then, The Voice, cautioned him to take off his shoes because he was standing on holy ground.

The moment of my first reaction to the scene I was tasked with leading, the interview process, was one of bewilderment in an either / or choice, when I knew one candidate was the right technical fit and had the right leadership skills for the team, and the other was the strategic leader that I knew the organization needed. Which one should be hired? Then The Voice, that Voice, came to me reminding me of my prayers, reminding me that I serve a miraculous God, pointing me to the excellence of His provision, calling me to the best decision for my client.

I’ve always depended on Him for His strength and wisdom in the performance of the responsibilities entrusted to me. In exceptional situations He has made His Voice nearly audible. This morning, being Palm Sunday, I was reading in the twelfth chapter of the book of John. Jesus had just prayed asking the Father to glorify His name. In a setting where others could hear, the Father said from heaven, “I have glorified it, and will glorify it again.” Some in the crowd thought they had heard thunder and others said an angel had spoken to Christ. But Jesus said, “The voice was for your benefit, not mine.”

For those of us who live by faith not by sight, The Voice is a confirmation, an assurance, that the Lord our God is with us. It provides the conviction that we’re not making this up. Those confirmations of the Spirit are most frequently followed by additional affirmations that confirm our steps of faith in following the Voice. The Voice is indeed for our benefit not for God’s. It helps us to know that He is with us and is guiding our steps. Hearing His voice requires that our hearts be tuned to hearing from Him. For me, this requires that I have laid a matter at His feet in prayer, seeking His help and direction. Much more could be said and written on this process but back to the point of “The Voice.”

This morning as I was reading, the phrase “The voice was for your benefit” jumped off the page at me in a reassuring manner to keep me pointed toward the object of my faith. That object is not my job, not my next contract, but full confidence that I was following His direction for me and my life. In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps. (Prov. 16:9) My steps are being directed and because of that I have full confidence in my direction and know He is leading me to a new thing, regardless of where that may be.

Have you heard the Voice in your life? What are you doing about it?

About ponderosapapa

Papa to five grandchildren, Dad to two daughters and two sons-in-law, Husband of one wife. Leaving a legacy of thought and perspective worth carrying through the generations that follow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

