Living Life In Crescendo

I’ve had this philosophy about stewardship of the 62 years that God has invested in me. I’ve felt that I should not go sit on the sidelines and put the years of experiences, life lessons and professional skills on the shelf. There has been a sense that with all that I’ve experienced and learned, my best work should be before me.

Today while researching leadership character traits and habits, I stumbled upon a word that has described my feelings and I’m delighted. Steven Covey used this word in his blog and it is “Crescendo.” Life is built on a series of experiences and ought to be an on-going process. What is it about the American culture that suggests we work hard, build our skills, learn new things each day, build relationships and networks only to hang it up one day and go sit on the beach or play golf? What a tremendous waste of skills, gifts and knowledge.

I want my children and grandchildren to see that we’re in the game to play, to contribute and to finish the race, until God takes us out of the race. From time to time our platform for service may change, but as each one fades, new opportunities arise that need to be pursued and used as further opportunities for learning and making significant contributions.

All this to say … Live life in crescendo!

About ponderosapapa

Papa to five grandchildren, Dad to two daughters and two sons-in-law, Husband of one wife. Leaving a legacy of thought and perspective worth carrying through the generations that follow.
This entry was posted in Finishing Well, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Living Life In Crescendo

  1. David Reid says:

    Hi Bill,Love this concept. I’ll be 38 next week, and thinking humbly about the work God has put in me. Along a similar line that we live for others and not ourselves, when I went to Israel back in April, and I was thinking about my impact on the world, I felt God saying to me that my greatest impact may be what Ben (my son) does for the Kingdom…that’s really neat!

    Like

  2. Bill Regehr says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. We feel very blessed that our kids are aggressively engaged in impacting their world for the Kingdom. I pray that you will be similarly blessed … with Ben and his future spouse and with Abbie and her future spouse. Nothing can top that blessing. Need to begin praying now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

