On to something thoughtful …

Reflecting on season of life … 2 beautiful daughters grown, each married to a wonderful man, each with two children, 4 grandchildren (2 granddaughters, 2 grandsons), a fantastic wife of 38 years going on 39 … reminiscent of Jack Benny’s magical number 39 … perhaps we’ll stay on 39 for awhile. Yet, aging beats the alternative … so we’ll press on to 40 or more if God permits.

How did I get here and what is God doing in my life at this particular point in time? Both good questions to consider. Better question … What will I do with today and tomorrow? How will I invest my time?

Fifty-eight years is a lot of time to consider for reflection. Yet it takes some period of time to develop trends, to be able to look back and see life in ways we cannot see it in the present. We deal with life today as it is dealt to us in ways developed through our life experiences and training.

Challenges faced at this particular time are to ensure we’re dealing with life from a healthy perspective coming out of a traumatic five-year experience. The experiences of the past create a certain tentativeness that is uncharacteristic. The tentativeness seems to come out of my concern for the approval of men rather than the approval of God. I’ve tracked to the approval of God in the past, but men have judged the results of the past to be unnecessary. So like many, I pursue the approval of men, doing my best to live at peace with all men and still honor the God who created me and provided for my salvation.

Enough thinking for now. There are some thoughts above that I’ve not verbalized before that require reflection.

About ponderosapapa

Papa to five grandchildren, Dad to two daughters and two sons-in-law, Husband of one wife. Leaving a legacy of thought and perspective worth carrying through the generations that follow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

